Trick-or-treat


So, rather spontaneously, I made the decision to actually pass out candy in my neighborhood for trick-or-treating. The last time I actually stuck around my house to pass out candy for Halloween was when I lived in Colorado. I didn’t get many kids that night–the weather was quite chilly, as I recall. This time, I figured, since my neighborhood was full of kids, I bought five bags of candy. Turns out this was a mistake, I probably only needed two or three. There were a lot of kids milling around, but not nearly enough for all the chocolate I had. I bought only the stuff I like to eat, too (thinking that if I were the one trick-or-treating, these are the treats I’d like to receive): Mr. Goodbar, White Chocolate Reese’s Cups, Three Musketeers, and what I mistook for regular Reese’s Cups in the store, but turned out to only be some fangled candy bar called Reese’s. I had one, it was mediocre as far as Reese’s go.

I had some revelations tonight while passing out candy that I’d like to share with you all here:

1. Kids past 6th grade should not be trick-or-treating. I suddenly realized why my parents were not too keen on my trick-or-treating into my teens and I felt very sorry for all the times I paraded around with my best friend’s little brother–who was 13 years younger than us–just so that I could squeeze a few more years of treats in. Shame on me!!

2. Kids don’t seem to say “trick-or-treat” anymore. They just kind of thrust their bags at you. One or two of them will say “thank you” but only if coached explicitly by nearby parents. Man, my dad would have whooped my ass for not saying thank you!

3. I was overcome with a sudden overwhelming urge to have a kid of my own to trick-or-treat with any time I saw a mother toting a a 3 or 4 year old little kid with a little trick-or-treat bag. I tried to suppress these feelings as I remembered those clearly teen-aged kids running around trying to scam candy from us. Shame on Mars Girl–kids are not dogs. Just get a dog.

4. I felt out of place being the 33 year old single chick passing out candy. I self-consciously wondered what the other mothers and fathers thought of me, worrying constantly that if I talked too much to the kid, they might think I’m a pervert or something, since I keep to myself so often. I was really nervous trying to interact with those kids in a casual way. In this day and age, you don’t know how your actions can be misconstrued. And kids make me uncomfortable in general. I’m worrying what even they think of me. How will I ever counsel people in an official capacity?

5. Halloween doesn’t seem to be as big of the deal to kids today that it was when I was a kid. I don’t know; it just seemed like more of a ta-do. I felt it just sailed on by without much action. Was my generation the last one to put the magic in the air? Maybe it’s just because I’m not feeling it anymore.

Well, my coughing, congestion, and stuffy nose are getting worse, so I’m going to go take some NiQuil and watch the live episode of Ghost Hunters. I love those TAPS guys…. (I actually have a crush on one of them, but I don’t remember his name…)

Anyone want some candy? I’ve still got two full unopened bags. This is no way to loose weight… I guess I’ll save them for the election day party I’m going to on Tuesday…

6 thoughts on “Trick-or-treat

  1. We did not have many trick-or-treaters in our neighborhood this year. The candy in your picture would have been overkill for us. Of course, a few years ago we passed out thirty pounds of candy.But, I agree that some people should not be trick-or-treating. I agree about the older kids. In addition, if you are not old enough to walk on your own, then you should not be out. We got tired of handing candy to parents with sleeping kids in a stroller.We like Ghost Hunters too. Good thing we upgraded our Tivo to 300 hours. Otherwise, the whole live episode would not have fit.As far as the excess candy, I would be more than happy to take it off your hands. :)

  2. We never pass out chocolate, because otherwise I will eat the entire bowl before any kids arrive. I use the opposite rule you do when selecting Halloween candy – what do I NOT like? The rational is that we buy candy I’m not too thrilled with, and then I end up eating about a dozen pieces during the night anyway. My will power disappears on October 31st.We set some “ground rules” for passing out candy this year. If it’s a kid in a stroller who is clearly not old enough to eat the candy themselves, only one piece. Likewise, if it was a teen who dressed up, we didn’t have a problem with that, but if it was a teen who made no commitment to even attempt to dress up, only one piece of candy. And then by 7:30 all rules went to pot and giant handfuls went into bags in an effort to get rid of the excess. Our neighbor uses one of those clickers to count how many kids showed up and at about 7:30 had estimated we had about 200 kids visit our neighborhood. Oh, we’re also that crazy couple that MAKES the kids say “trick or treat” before we put the candy in their bag, even if it means us looking at them and saying, “Can you say trick or treat?” I was pleasantly pleased, though, with the number of kids we had who DID say “thank you” without prompting. Now if they can just stop running across our yard to get from house to house – we do have sidewalks in our neighborhood!Oh, the other amusing Generation Gap Display we saw last night. Jeff dressed up as Slash from Guns n’ Roses. The parents saw him and said, “Yeah, Slash, rock on!” The kids saw him and said, “Hey, you’re the guy from Guitar Hero!” Oh, we are so old…

  3. We have lots and lots of candy left over here too and wondering what we are going to do with it. We had a lot of kids down here but I think last year we had more. We didn’t have any rules set in place for handing out candy, we were just handing out handfuls to EVERY kid that came and then were trying to step it up to more towards the end.Also, our trick-or-treat was not on Halloween either. Rather is was on Sunday October 26th. They had it on the Sunday before Halloween last year too.I don’t think many said trick-or-treat but I was just focusing on getting the handfuls of candy. One girl did come up and say “yo trick my treat dawg” which I thought was funny and still laugh about ….. me thinks she watches too much Snoop Dog or something.We also dressed in costume too. I went as a Whoopi Cushion and Craig had a skull mask on that was silver and had black hair on it. He also had some decorations out that played spooky music and would turn that on when kids were coming up to the front porch. We also turned our front by the bushes into a grave yard and had some other things out there (I think we are the only ones who go all out for the holidays w/outdoor decorations). He also got one little girl to scream too, I think she was just too interested in seeing the candy go into her bag she wasn’t paying attention to who was giving it to her. Then she looked up and saw Craig and screamed. But that was the only scream. Other kids kinda were shying away from him and wanting to hide. But it was a fun time and I was glad that the weather held out.

  4. As for the age as to which one should stop trick-or-treating, I agree people should use common sense on this. I mean usually when you get into high school, you start doing other things on Halloween with friends. I had to laugh as the other day, this one young whipper-snapper at my work (I say that cuz he is I think 23) was remarking about how a few years ago he tried to go trick-or-treating and he seemed to be offended that some people told him he was TOOOOOOOOO old and wouldn’t give him candy. He continued on this rant of his and was saying that there really isn’t any laws/rules concerning trick-or-treating and how one should show him where it says the age limit for this. Um, when you are old enough to go buy the candy yourself, you don’t need to go get FREE candy.

  5. Yeah, I think the magic has gone out of the holiday, but I have to admit that there wasn’t much magic around the holiday when I was growing up either.But there were some good things. I remember going to the Fire Station (after all the trick of treating) where there was a community paty, and there would be games like bobbing for apples! Ha! That’s one game you’ll never see again. You are more likely to get poisoned by hand sanitizer than to ever bob for an apple.In the old days, “trick of treat” was a threat! Either you give us a treat or you’ll get a trick. That just shows you how far we’ve fallen when it comes to holidays. It was more of a holiday about imagination than it is now. Now, it’s just yet-another holiday where the goal is to “get stuff”.

  6. Boy, Frank, you hit the nail on the head with that one. I remember when I was trick-or-treating, I tried REALLY HARD to come up with an original costume. We NEVER bought store costumes… my mom made our costumes when we were young to be whatever we wanted… and as I got older, I made my own… It was my job each year to try to come up with something better and stranger. These days, all I see are the same set of store bought costumes…There was one great costume that a girl did. She made herself into a Jack-in-the-Box. It was really cute and I could tell she’d worked on it herself. It reminded me of the time I dressed up as a computer (with HAPPY HALLOWEEN written on the computer screen in the carefully realistic block lettering of the day).I complimented her for her great costume…

Leave a Reply

