Excuse me while I gloat

I can’t help but feel a little glee about the Indian’s 10-2 win over the Yanks yesterday at their opening game in their brand-spanking new billion dollar stadium. I didn’t see the game yesterday, as I was at work, but my heart was filled with joy when it was the first thing I heard this morning. Please excuse me while I do a little victorious happy dance.

The Yankees opened baseball’s fanciest and priciest ballpark Thursday with a performance that would have embarrassed Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig and other stars from their famous pinstriped past. After an 85-year run in a stadium that produced 26 World Series titles, New York saw its hitters fizzle and its bullpen come apart on a sunny afternoon in a 10-2 loss to the Cleveland Indians.

Jhonny Peralta broke a seventh-inning tie with a two-run double off Jose Veras, and Grady Sizemore hit a grand slam into the right-field seats off Damaso Marte.

“To come in here and do what we did is something we’ll always remember,” Sizemore said.

The Indians have been off to a pathetic start this year, losing games to the Texas Rangers, Toronto, and Kansas City, but this more than makes up for it. Of course, it’s now the bottom of the 3rd inning for their second game against NY and the damn Yanks are up 2-1. Let’s hope the Indians pull out another 7th inning miracle. Or, better yet, just kick some Yankee ass. (Where did the pacifist go? Isn’t this why some of my hippy liberal friends hate sports? Pah! A little competitiveness is a good thing… it’s healthy…)

4 thoughts on “Excuse me while I gloat

  1. Woo hoo, way to go Baby Sizemore, a grand slam! You can have an extra bowl of ice cream tonight!

    (For anyone scratching their heads at this, it's an inside joke that Heidi & I have.)

  2. That kid is good!! No denying it. We better win a penant before he leaves…

    And even my dad’s nemesis, Jhonny (gee-honney, as he pronounces it) Peralta, outdid himself!

    The only thing better would have been me, sitting there in the stands, eating Yankee hot dogs, and laughing!! (Though, Yankee fans scare me so I’d probably be dead now.)

  3. Yes, every time Gee-Honney does something good Jeff and I turn to each other and say, “I wonder if Mr. Emhoff will share his good beer with him now?”

Leave a Reply

