Number 1 reason why bike commuting rocks

Last night, I took the bike trail loop from Seasons Road that follows along Rt. 8 to get home from work. Look at the traffic southbound on Route 8.

To be fair, this was traffic for Blossom Music Center (a local concert venue) so it’s not the norm. And I usually don’t take Route 8 to get home as I can travel to and from work in my car by using back roads. However, I was really glad at that moment to be on the bike trail and not stuck in that traffic!

See? The bike path offers no-wait clear access in the same general direction! Ahhh…. the freedom of pedaling–no jams, no stop-n-go, no angry people flipping each other off. Cyclists are happy because they are living on the high of their endorphins. Have you ever noticed that out on the road, cyclists wave at each other as they pass going in opposite directions? I can’t remember the last time someone didn’t say, “Hello!” cheerfully as they passed me. That just doesn’t happen in a car. Cycling is better for you emotionally as well as physically. There’d be no road rage if we all pedaled where we needed to go, that’s for sure.

Anyway, I had a good ride home last night. Peninsula was a little uncomfortably busy, but when I saw the traffic on Route 8 I remembered why. There was a Lenyrd Skynard (sp?) concert or something going on. It’s a good thing I didn’t decided to try to climb Northampton (I had thought about it). Northampton, for you out-of-towners, being the one of the main roads to the Blossom gates. It’s normally a nice quiet road unless there is a concert going on… It reminds me why I don’t really like going to Blossom for rock concerts… seeing the Cleveland Orchestra or Garrison Keillor there is one thing, but rock concerts are a ZOO.

3 thoughts on “Number 1 reason why bike commuting rocks

  1. However, if you're in a Jeep Wrangler, you'll wave to other Jeep Wrangler drivers on your commute. And then wish them a flat tire if they dare not return your wave. The Jeep Wave is sacred and not to be brushed off! ;)

  2. Jeep people are happy because they know that they can just drive over top of everyone in a traffic jam ;) And they are not detered by snow storms.

Leave a Reply

