A Decade Later

At the risk of being maudlin, I thought I’d share a few pictures from my wedding album… The date, as you know by now, my faithful readers, was August 28, 1999. The place was the 356th Fighter Group Restaurant in North Canton, Ohio. And unlike today, it was not raining and it was beautiful.


I hear the clinking silverware and the best man’s toast. God bless Jonathon Bock. (I don’t see him enough; he and his wife keep inviting me to stuff and I keep declining… Those who knew you then know the difference in who you are now and it’s hard.)

The friendly cake feeding ritual. No smashing–so cliche! (And not when I’m wearing a $600 dress that I will never wear again.)


I always dreamed of my future husband wearing a white tux with tails at our wedding, ever since age 13 when I lusted after Davy Jones dancing to “Daddy’s Song” in the movie Head. Bet you didn’t know that about me. Frightening, but true. A good man obliges his future wife. He did sport that white tux and tails better than a young Davy Jones ever did!


This was one of our favorites… We had a big 8×10 of it hanging in the living room of our house.

Here’s to the nights we felt alive
Here’s to the tears you knew you’d cry
Here’s to goodbye
Tomorrow’s gonna come too soon
— Eve 6, “Here’s to the Night”

And life drums relentlessly on. All that’s left are the memories and photographic evidence. There once was a man named Michael Russell Fronheiser. And he was the first great love of my life…. May he rest in eternal joy until we meet again amidst some ephemeral realm where we can wander the galaxy endlessly learning.

11 thoughts on “A Decade Later

  1. Well, you know… I see eyes rolling from some of my readers who are bored with my whiney widow posts… But then, I'm the decider for what goes on this blog!! Humph!

  2. Some folks in our lives leave such a strong impression. It seems like you two had something special and memorable. Be good to yourself and don't worry so much what others think. I am sending some good vibes your way……E

    P.S. Pretty dress!

  3. Who would be rolling their eyes? You posted some pretty good pictures. Just should have posted one with Mike trying on your veil!

  4. I'll have to look for that picture. I'm pretty sure I have one. I thought there was a professional one taken by the photographer like that… I'll have to look. But I dont have a scanner at home so it won't be able to get up until next week.

  5. Oh, good… I was looking at other photos last night and found Mike's famous "Queen Amidala" picture (where he wore this obnoxious lamp shade that Jon had). I decided I wanted to scan that too and put it up here with some notes about how weird Mike was… I also wanted to share the memory of him trying on one of my dresses and prancing around my apartment in it… all signs that he was comfortable with his sexuality… and a big goofball.. which is why I loved him. (Tempted to post a picture of him in Speedos just to prove that some men CAN wear Speedos and look good, but that might be a bit too much for everyone.)

Leave a Reply

