Curried Lamb with White Beans

I know I promised way back in November that I was going to make a recipe each month of winter out of  The Best Slower Cooker Cookbook Ever, but, um, my lack of domestic skill or interest kind of derailed me. Even though my usually uncreative and bland cooking leaves me wanting more and slow cookers are the easiest things to use because it generally has that “set it and forget it” sort of concept working to its advantage. Plus, I generally can make enough food for a night’s dinner with enough left over to freeze and eat once a week for a couple of months!

Anyway, I tried the curried lamb with white beans recipe I’ve been wanting to make. Now I know some people have their qualms with eating lamb; I love lamb, it’s one f my favorite meats. I know it’s gamey, but I think the gamey flavor is the best part. Plus, lamb tends to break down into softer meat when slow cooked and then it flavors the rest of the stew. It seems to be a great slow cooker meat!

The result was generally pretty good, but I think it’s missing something in flavor. I think it needs more heat or more curry or spices or something. I have to figure out what it is I need to put more of to make a tastier result next time. Any ideas from the experienced cooks out there?

Ingredients (Makes 6 to 8 Servings):

1 (16-ounce) package dried small white beans, rinsed and picked over (I didn’t rinse them or pick them over — they came in a package after all! Why would I need to do this?)
2 cups very hot water
1 cup dry wine (I used that Oak Creek Pinot Gris from Giant Eagle because it’s only $2. It’s a good cooking wine because it’s totally tasteless for drinking! Which probably makes it a bad cooking wine, but I wasn’t about to waste one of my good more expensive whites for cooking!)
1 red onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced (Hmmm… maybe it needed more garlic…)
1 large Granny Smith apple, chopped (I forgot that was in there!)
1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
1/2 red bell pepper, chopped (I put the whole thing in of both.)
2 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon of Madras curry powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon Beau Monde seasoning
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
2 pounds lean boneless lamb stew meat, trimmed of fat and cut into 1-1/2 inch cubes

Instructions:

1. In a 4-quart electric slow cooker, combine the beans, hot water, wine, red onion, garlic, apple, green and red bell peppers, 2 tablespoons of the curry powder, the cumin, Beau Monde seasoning, and turmeric. Add the lamb and mix well.

2. Cover and cook on the high heat setting for 1 hour. Reduce the heat setting to low. Cook, covered, on low for 5-1/2 to 6-1/2 hours longer, or until the beans are tender but not mushy. Stir in the remaining 1 teaspoon curry powder.

Does anyone know of a hot Indian pepper I might add to the recipe? I think I’d like my nose to water or something! Or a least for my tongue to tingle a little… I have to admit, though, that despite my slight disappointment with the taste of the outcome, I was inspired to perhaps attempt some Indian recipes.  I love Indian food! (And Thai, Mexican, Italian, Japanese, German…)

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

