Breathe

Okay, this song is fast on its way to actually becoming my number 1 favorite U2 song of all time… Currently “A Sort of Homecoming” from The Unforgettable Fire holds that position, as it has held that position for a long time. But “Breathe” has to be one of the most emotionally uplifting songs I’ve ever heard. It’s the breath of fresh air after a hard cry; it’s the moment after you’ve felt the most pain you’ve ever felt in your life; it’s the second you realize that despite all the pain, you want to hold on, hold on, hold onto life as tight as possible because it’s at once so overwhelming beautiful and gut-wrenchingly painful. It’s realizing that you still have to get up in the morning, face the day, push yourself outside to feel the joy. Joy is not something that just falls into your lap; you have to force yourself to find it. For me, it’s the perfect widow anthem of overcoming. It’s the single best spiritual song U2 has ever written.

I finally found a great live version of “Breathe,” which I think is from the Rose Bowl. I really wish they’d put this back on their set list!!

Anyway, I feel really vindicated because Bono said in the interview below that his favorite song on No Line on the Horizon is “Breathe.” I feel like I and the artist have connected. Damn. It’s a beautiful thing!

There’s a few things I need you to know. Three:

1. That scarf Bono is wearing? Um. Yeah. That’s the scarf I got from the forum friend mentioned in prior post. It’s all the rage of Bonogirls. And female U2 fans in general. He’s the best advertisement for his wife’s clothing company. Eh-hem. We girls are so gullible.

2. Bono is totally right about No Line on the Horizon (NLOTH): It’s definitely an album that has to sit with you for awhile. I like this release so much more today than I do when it first came out. Initially, my favorite songs were “Breathe” and “Magnificent.” Since 2009 when the album came out, I’ve grown to love “I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight,” “Stand Up Comedy,”  “Unknown Caller,” and “Moment of Surrender.” Now these songs rank with some of the top U2 songs of all time. NLOTH started at #8 in my rankings of the U2 albums; now it’s moved up to #7, trading places with How to Dismantle An Atomic Bomb. To be honest, it quite possibly could rank between Achtung Baby and Zooropa with me these days. Anyway, it’s a great album and a definite evolution of the band.

3. “Blogging has put me off from democracy.” – Totally agree with you, Bono. Even as a blogger. Unfortunately. I’ve said repeatedly that there’s a problem in a world where everyone has the ability to publicly state their opinion on everything–the books you want to read, the movies you want to see, legitimate news stories, someone else’s blog posts. It’s too much sharing of information. Too much noise. And a lot of the noise just terrible. (Even mine, I’m sure, to some.) We’re all just a bit too connected to each other these days. Don’t think I’ve not thought about it as I leave my footprint all over the internet…

Leave a Reply

